Philosophy Statement

vision and intentions for innovation in teaching and learning

Vision

My vision is to be a teacher who not only models and exemplifies creativity and innovation in her own life, but also inspires, actively teaches, and encourages creativity and innovation in my students, both in their lives at school as well as giving them the skills that they need to move forward into life. Creativity is something that is both useful and novel, and is needed if we truly wish to push our students to think of the future, and to solve the problems that are in their lives today and those that will come tomorrow. Teaching then is guiding our students towards developing their own thought processes, and to realizing their highest potential.
Mission

I aim both for myself, but also for my students, to use my knowledge of history and basic skills and knowledge to guide me, and my students, towards understanding, solving, and being prepared for the future. As a Christian teacher this not only includes world knowledge, but also a knowledge of the Bible in order to look to the future, not only in our daily lives, but also in a spiritual sense. This mission is so essential because our curriculum dictates that we teach innovation and creativity, because we need to give our students the mindset and skills to be able to solve the problems of the future, and because we need to encourage our students to become deep-thinking, mindful and critical thinkers. This mission is important because being a teacher is an ethical and moral job, and requires that the decisions that I make be in the best interests of my students, and broader than that, in the best interests of society and the world. My mission applies first and foremost to myself: I must be a thoughtful, deep thinker who begins to understand myself, history, and how I can impact the future. My mission applies second of all to my students: I am then a role-model, a guide, and a teacher of value of innovation. My mission finally applies to the people around me, and that hopefully I can inspire change, some level of innovation, and a value in creativity to my co-workers, family, friends, and anyone I have contact with.

Values

• I value the Bible as the guide to my life, and the knowledge gleaned there to be the ultimate wisdom and knowledge needed.

• I value a constant drive forwards to think deeper, improve myself and my teaching, and a push for real action.

• I value a striving to excellence: for myself, for my students, and for my peers, to do the very best that I am able to at all times, and to never be satisfied with mediocrity.

• I value reflection, and the importance this can have in coming to know yourself, thinking about the future, and acting in a better, more appropriate, and thoughtful way in the future.
Resources:

Christou, T. M., & Bullock, S. M. (2012). The case for philosophical mindedness. Paideusis, 20(1), 14–23

https://curriculum.gov.bc.ca/

http://www.diycommitteeguide.org/resource/vision-mission-and-values

Falkenberg, T. (2012). Teaching as contemplative professional practice. Paideusis, 20(2), 25 – 35

http://greatergood.berkeley.edu/article/item/can_mindfulness_make_us_better_teachers

http://greatergood.berkeley.edu/article/item/seven_ways_mindfulness_can_help_teachers

Hennessey, B.A., & Amabile, T.M. (2010). Creativity. Annual Review of Psychology, 61, 569 – 598. doi: 10.1146/annurev.psych.093008.100416

Martin, J.R. (1996). There’s too much to teach: Cultural wealth in an age of scarcity. Educational Researcher, 25(2), 4–16. doi: 10.3102/0013189X025002004

Mueller, J.S., Melwai, S., & Goncalo, J.A. (2012). The bias against creativity: Why people desire but reject creative ideas. Psychological Science, 23(1), 13–17. doi: 10.1177/0956797611421018

Seixas, P., & Peck, C. (2004). Teaching historical thinking. In A. Sears & I. Wright (Eds.), Challenges and prospects for Canadian social studies (pp. 109 – 117). Vancouver: Pacific Educational Press.

Tomkins, G. (1981). Foreign influences on curriculum and curriculum policy making in Canada: Some impressions in historical and contemporary perspective. Curriculum Inquiry, 11(2), 157–205.

Leave a Reply

