Example of a unit that encourages creativity & innovation

For PME 832 (The Connected Classroom) I had to envision what learning could look like using what I learned about connected classrooms.  As I pondered, searched through my new curriculum, and thought some more about what a truly connected unit plan would look like, I discovered that if I was truly using what I’m learning (and working towards growth), then that unit plan would not only be connected, but it would also encourage my students to think creatively and innovatively.

Attached is a Grade 8 Science unit overview, complete with rationale and resources to use.  Although thinking creatively means coming up with novel and useful ideas… it also sometimes means that we ‘beg, borrow, and steal’ good ideas from our peers.  So, if you’d like to use it, feel free! (Just let me know how it worked for you: I’d love to tweak it and make it better)

The Connected Classroom Culminating Task

 

Leave a Reply

